Best Uptime Monitoring Tools for SLA Reports and Downtime Evidence

If you are buying monitoring to hold a hosting provider or a vendor accountable, retention and incident timestamps matter more than check speed. What six tools publish, and what they leave off the pricing page.

By TrackDowntime · Last updated September 2026

Put an endpoint under monitoring

60 second checks with phone call, SMS and email alerts. Plans from $29 a month.

Uptime monitoring tools that are actually useful for SLA reports share three things: a check interval of 60 seconds or faster, an incident log that stores the start, end and duration of every outage, and history retention long enough to still hold the incident when you get around to claiming. UptimeRobot, Better Stack and TrackDowntime all publish those numbers. Several well known tools do not.

That last point matters more than it sounds. Most monitoring comparisons rank tools on check speed and alert channels, which is fair if you only care about being woken up. If the reason you are buying is that a hosting provider owes you a credit, or a client wants proof their site was up, you are buying a record, and the specification that decides whether you get one is retention.

What an SLA claim actually needs from your monitoring tool

Uptime guarantees are almost never paid out automatically. Providers publish a 99.9 percent number, then require you to open a ticket and ask, usually with the outage documented, and often inside a short window after the incident. Service credits are typically capped at 15 to 20 percent of that month's fee, which means the amount at stake is small enough that nobody will chase it for you and large enough to be annoying to lose.

Four capabilities decide whether your tool produces something a provider will accept.

Independence. The measurement has to come from outside the provider's infrastructure. A log kept by the company being asked to pay is not evidence, and a status page edited after the fact is not a record.

Timestamps, not summaries. You need the moment the first check failed and the moment a check succeeded again. A tool that only shows you a monthly uptime percentage gives you a conclusion without the working, and the provider will ask for the working.

A tight enough interval. With 5 minute checks, the start and end of an outage can each be wrong by up to five minutes. For a 12 minute incident, that is an uncertainty a provider can argue with. At 60 seconds the margin is bounded at about a minute on each end.

Retention that outlives your reaction time. Nobody files a credit request the same afternoon. If your history is gone in 30 days and you review hosting quarterly, you are throwing away the evidence before you look at it.

How the main tools handle downtime history and reporting

Published US information as of September 2026. Vendors change plans often, so confirm on the vendor's own page before you buy.

Tool Entry paid plan Fastest check on that plan History retention published Report export
UptimeRobot Solo, about EUR 108/year 60 seconds Yes: 3 months free, 12 months Solo, 24 months Team and Scale Monthly email reports; file export not documented on the pricing page
StatusCake Superior, $24.49/mo monthly 1 minute Not published on the pricing page Not published on the pricing page
Better Stack Responder, $34/mo ($29 annual) 30 seconds Telemetry bundles retain 30 days; uptime SLA reporting included CSV export through the reporting add-on, $5 per member per month
Pingdom Synthetic monitoring, priced by calculator 60 seconds Not shown on the pricing page Not shown on the pricing page
Downtime Monkey Paid tiers 1 minute on paid Logs selectable back to 2 years, per their own documentation Log export to spreadsheet
TrackDowntime Starter, $29/mo ($14 annual) 5 minutes Starter, 60 seconds Professional Yes: 30 days Starter, 90 days Professional, no limit Enterprise White label reports on Enterprise

Two patterns are worth naming. First, retention scales with price at every vendor that publishes it, so the cheap plan is cheap partly because it forgets faster. Second, three widely used tools do not put retention on their pricing page at all, which is not a scandal but does mean you should ask before you commit if evidence is your reason for buying.

UptimeRobot

The clearest published retention of the group. Free keeps 3 months at 5 minute checks, Solo moves you to 60 seconds and 12 months, and the Team and Scale tiers keep 24 months. If your only requirement is a long, cheap history and you can live with email reports rather than exports, this is the straightforward answer. The free plan is restricted to personal use, so a business relying on it for an SLA claim is on shaky ground before the conversation even starts.

Better Stack

The only tool here that names SLA reporting as a feature and sells a CSV export path, though the export sits behind a reporting add-on billed per member. Uptime monitoring is bundled with on call scheduling and incident management, which is genuinely good if you have a rotation to run and overkill if you have four sites and one person. The telemetry retention numbers on the pricing page describe log and trace bundles rather than uptime history, so confirm the uptime figure specifically.

StatusCake

Generous test counts for the money: 100 uptime tests on Superior at $24.49 a month, 300 on Business. That makes it attractive for portfolios. Retention and export are not stated on the pricing page, so if you are buying for evidence rather than alerting, ask support to put the retention period in writing before you migrate a client list onto it.

Pingdom

Priced through a calculator rather than named tiers, and the public page does not disclose retention or export. Pingdom has been part of SolarWinds for years and is built for larger teams that also want real user monitoring. For a small business buying purely for downtime evidence, the pricing model alone usually rules it out before the feature list matters.

Downtime Monkey

Small, focused and open about its logging: their documentation describes downtime logs viewable across windows up to 2 years, with export to a spreadsheet so you can send the log to a customer or drop it into a report. Alerting is thinner than the bigger tools, but for the narrow job of keeping a long, exportable record it is a reasonable option.

TrackDowntime

Ours, so read this with that in mind. Retention is published per plan: 30 days on Starter, 90 days on Professional, no limit on Enterprise. Professional runs 60 second checks and includes phone call and SMS alerts with no per message billing, which matters because voice and SMS are where monitoring invoices usually spike. Every incident is stored with its start, end and duration, and every check stores the status code and response time. Where we lose to UptimeRobot is entry price and free tier: there is no free plan, and Starter is $29 a month against their roughly $10 equivalent. Where we win is the alerting behaviour, unmetered alerts and, on Enterprise, history that never expires. The website downtime tracker page explains exactly what the log holds.

Picking by what you are actually buying

One business site and a hosting provider you do not trust. Buy on retention, not on check speed. Anything that keeps 12 months or more and lets you read the incident timestamps will do. This is the case where UptimeRobot's paid tier is hard to beat on price.

An agency reporting to clients monthly. You need per site history and something presentable. Look for white label reports and enough retention to cover a quarterly review cycle. The monitoring setup for agencies covers how to count endpoints across a client portfolio without buying twice.

A revenue site where outages cost money per minute. Interval first, then retention. Put the checkout and the API on 60 second checks, get an alert channel that survives being asleep, and accept that you will pay more for it. That is the specific job downtime alerts by phone call exist for.

A team with its own uptime commitment to customers. You need independent measurement of your own API, not your cloud provider's dashboard, and history that outlasts your contract review. Enterprise style plans with uncapped retention are the right shape here.

If the thing you are trying to keep honest is a data pipeline rather than a URL, uptime checks are the wrong instrument entirely and monitoring freshness and anomalies in the warehouse is the category you actually want. Uptime tools answer one question: did the endpoint respond.

How long should you keep uptime history?

Long enough to cover your own review cycle plus the claim window. In practice that means 90 days as a working minimum for a business site, and 12 months if you renew hosting annually and want the previous year's record in the room when you negotiate.

Thirty days is enough only if you genuinely review monthly and file claims immediately. Most people do not. The realistic failure is not that the history was too short in theory, it is that three quiet months went by, then a bad week happened, and the pattern that would have explained it had already rolled off.

Questions people ask before buying a monitoring tool for SLA reporting

Can uptime monitoring prove downtime to a hosting provider? Yes, and third party monitoring is the evidence most providers ask for when you request a service credit. What makes it work is independence and timestamps: the log was produced outside the provider's infrastructure and it names the exact minute the site stopped and started responding. The provider's SLA terms still set how much credit you get and how you claim it.

Do I need SLA reports or is an incident log enough? An incident log is enough for a credit request, because what the provider wants is dates and durations. Formatted SLA reports matter when the audience is a client or an executive rather than a support desk, since a monthly uptime percentage per site with incidents listed underneath is easier to read than a raw log.

What check interval do I need for an SLA claim? Sixty seconds. At 5 minute checks your recorded outage window can be off by up to five minutes at each end, and a provider disputing a short incident will use exactly that. One minute checks bound the error to about a minute on each side, which is usually inside the tolerance of the argument.

Does monitoring history transfer if I switch tools? Almost never in a usable form. Uptime history is tied to the account that recorded it, and even tools with CSV export give you a file rather than a populated dashboard on the new vendor. If you are considering a switch, run both tools in parallel for a month before you cancel the old one, so you never have a gap in the record.

Where to start

If you are buying for evidence, do two things before you compare feature lists. Write down how far back you will realistically need to look, and check that number against the retention on the plan you were about to buy. Then check whether the tool stores the start and end of each incident or only a monthly percentage.

TrackDowntime publishes both numbers on every plan, runs 60 second checks from Professional up, and never bills per alert message. Plans and intervals are on the pricing page, and a first endpoint takes about a minute to add.

Find out before your customers do

60 second checks, escalating alerts and an automated phone call when a site stops responding. Plans start at $29 a month for 5 endpoints.

See pricing

More from the blog